03.10.15 Steve Grand Premiers New Track "Whiskey Crime" with Idolator

Steve Grand Premieres New Track "Whiskey Crime" with Idolator

Debut Album All American Boy out March 23rd

In 2013, Steve Grand, a singer-songwriter from Chicago, spent $7,000 of his own money to produce a music video for a song he had written called "All-American Boy." On July 2nd, he posted the video to YouTube and it went viral instantly, accumulating more than 1.5 million views in the first two weeks. The video now boasts close to 4 million views.  
Steve Grand will release his aptly titled debut album All American Boy on March 23, 2015 via Grand Nation distributed by BDG. BDG is distributed by RED (a division of Sony Music Corporation). Produced by Aaron Johnson (The Fray, Eve6), the album is a culmination of years of support that Steve has received from his fans. Fueled by donations from nearly 5,000 fans, Grand raised over $325,000 in what became 3rd most funded music project in Kickstarter history.
Yesterday, Idolator premiered "Whiskey Crime," the second focus track to be released from the album. Bianca Gracie said the track "leans toward the pop/rock spectrum... due to the tune’s fuzzy electric guitar riffs, energetic percussion and the singer’s confident and gritty vocals that mimic the tough edge of the favored liquor."
Listen here: http://www.idolator.com/7583719/steve-grand-whiskey-crime-idolator-premiere
Pre-order the album via iTunes and Amazon.
Recently, Steve Grand was the first-ever musical guest on MSNBC's "Out There" with Thomas Roberts, where he performed a stripped down performance of his hit song "All American Boy": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Igviulk1x-s
Influenced by such disparate artists as The Beatles, Billy Joel, Fall Out Boy, Lady Gaga, and Bruce Springsteen, Grand's debut features 13 songs that showcase Grand's diverse taste and style. The album includes the country-tinged tunes "All American Boy" and "Stay," the grungy party anthem "Whiskey Crime,"  and the dance-pop track "We Are The Night."
"When I think about the songs I was putting on this album, I thought about the album following an arc or storyline -  Each song needed to function as a plot point on that arc. A lot of things in life follow that trajectory, where there's a beginning, middle and end. Relationships do that, growing up does that, life does that. Each song is a plot point of a larger story, but each song is also a story all by itself.  When standing alone, each song explores some kind of relationship, whether it be a relationship with a romantic partner, a relationship with a friend, a relationship with the past, a relationship with something destructive, a relationship with a community,” explains Grand. "But most of my songs have a storyteller quality to them, they're about specific moments in time."
An active member of the LGBT community, Grand's choices about his lyrics and imagery in his music videos have been seen by many as groundbreaking, but he views it differently. "I'm not doing what I'm doing to make any kind of political statement, I don't like thinking about love or an expression of love or the human condition as political,” explains Grand. "I'm a songwriter, so I draw from my own personal experiences and I write about them the way any other songwriter would. There's nothing different about my music just because I'm gay. I sing about things that I go through, but they are things that we all go through, regardless of our sexual orientation.”
You can watch the album's EPK exclusively at The Advocate.
"I'm not trying to make any sweeping statement about any community. I’m just doing my best to be the best ‘me’ I can be. I think we can all benefit from more people letting their true-selves shine through, whatever that may look like.”
Track List:
1) Say You Love Me
2) Red, White and Blue
3) We Are The Night
4) All-American Boy
5) Soaking Wet
6) Loving Again
7) Whiskey Crime
8) Stay
9) Next To Me
10) Time
11) Better Off
12) Run
13) Back to California
For more information, please contact:
Joe Sivick (jsivick@missingpiecegroup.com)
Michelle Gutenstein-Hinz (michelleg@missingpiecegroup.com)
Michael Krumper (michael@missingpiecegroup.com)
at Missing Piece Group (862) 234-0801